Research Databases

Note:  This is not an exhaustive list.

  For the most relevant databases in your field of research, go to 
one of these subject reference pages:

Aeronautics | Applied & Computational MechanicsApplied MechanicsApplied Physics | Astrophysics | BiologyChemical EngineeringChemistry | Civil Engineering | Computation & Neural Systems | Computer Science | Control & Dynamic SystemsEarthquake Engineering | Electrical Engineering | Engineering Science | Environmental Science & EngineeringGeology & Planetary Sciences | Humanities & Social Sciences | Materials Science | Mathematics | Mechanical Engineering | Physics 

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


ACM Digital Library
Fulltext of:
ACM periodicals & magazines: most titles from volume 1
ACM proceedings, ACM SIG conference proceedings 1991+, in some cases 1985+.

Access Science
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

ACD/Public Chromatography Applications Database
Contains over 4700 separations from a list of 19 column vendors. The database can be searched by numerous chromatographic parameters, as well as by structure, substructure, and structural similarity. For example, searching for a novel compound will retrieve applications for compounds with similar structures.

ACLS Humanities E-Book
This digital collection of over 1,700 full-text titles in the Humanities is fully searchable and features unlimited multi-user access. The collection expands each year; more info

Aerospace Database
Provides coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences; also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields; current year's backfile only.

Agricola
1970+ agriculture index and abstracts from the National Agricultural Library; books and audiovisual materials as well as journal articles; more info

AIDS Clinical Trials Information Service
Current information on federally and privately funded clinical trials for AIDS patients and others infected with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV); includes experimental drugs; more info

Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political and social change issues. 1991+; more info 

America: History and Life
Index to periodicals, book chapters and theses for U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to present. Indexes materials dating back to 1954. Selected links to full text articles.

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid is important for locating historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers can identify items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.

ARTFL
American and French research on the treasury of the French language; 13th to 20th century French texts; more info

ArticleFirst
Table of contents pages of 12,500 journals, 1990+; more info

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1994+; more info

ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center
Explore, search and view more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase and crystal data for more than 2400 systems.

ASTM Digital Library - a searchable index to ASTM publications and standard

Beilstein CrossFire Commander -- Beilstein Crossfire DiscoveryGate
Organic chemistry database of structures and properties data with literature references on ~10M compounds and ~10M million reactions.

BIOETHICSLINE
1973+ Ethics and related public policy issues in health care and biomedical research; other bioethics resources

Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Indexes current and retrospective reference sources providing international coverage of individuals - living and deceased - in all fields of activity; more info

BioMed Central

BioOne

Books in Print
~2 million book titles -- in print, forthcoming, or declared out-of-print or out-of-stock; searchable by title, author, subject, publisher, ISBN, keywords

BRENDA
BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. The enzymes are classified according to the Enzyme Commission list of enzymes.

Business & Industry
Important facts and figures for international public & private companies, industries, products, and markets; covers

Business & Management Practices
Covers over 795 sources from 1995 to the present on the practical aspects of business management; more info

Business Dateline
Information on regional business activities and trends and major stories on local firms, their products, and executives from over 535 regional publications, Business Wire press releases, and major newspapers; 1985+; more info

BusinessFile ASAP
Fulltext access to a wide range of business periodicals and directories

Cambridge Structural Database (CCDC)
The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) contains structural information on over 330,000 carbon containing molecules (<1000 atoms) and over 366,000 structures, including organics, compounds of main group elements, organometallics and metal complexes. There is a small overlap between the CSD and the Inorganic Crystal Structure Database, in the area of molecular inorganics.

Chem Sources
Includes the products of more than 7,200 chemical firms spanning 130 countries. Lists over 200,000 chemical compounds, and more than 100,000 have CAS Registry Numbers and over 60,000 have formulas; more info

Citation Classics
Classic essays of highly cited papers, written by Eugene Garfield

Combined Chemical Dictionary
Online version of:  Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, and Dictionary of Analytical Reagents, Dictionary of Carbohydrates, and Dictionary of Marine Natural Products; more info

CompendexWeb
1970+ comprehensive engineering and applied science index and abstracts including chemical, civil, and mechanical engineering; more info

ContentsFirst
Tables of contents of 12,500+ journals from 1990 to present; more info

CoRR Computing Research Repository
Special-purpose search engine covering computer science research papers

CQ Congress Collection
Provides an analytical survey of the history and development; powers; personalities; current developments; and legislation considered and passed by the United States Congress Data is organized under four headings: Public Policy Legislation, Members of Congress, CQ Key Votes, The Legislative Branch.

CQ Researcher
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.

CQ Voting & Elections Collection
Provides a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.

CrossRef Search
'Google' indexed fulltext of scholarly journal articles from over 1600 publishers' websites. Results are returned using the Google search and ranking algorithms, and using the article's DOI whenever possible to link to the published article.

DOIs can be retrieved from bibliographic citations at: http://www.crossref.org/freeTextQuery
Bibliographic citations can be retrieved from DOIs at: http://dx.doi.org

Current Index to Statistics
Covers 106 "core journals", selected articles from 900 additional journals, and 8000 books; 1974 to current; more info 

Current Protocols
Current Protocols contains the largest collection of authoritative, peer-reviewed, regularly-updated research methods and topical overviews available, with over 10,000 protocols spanning the life sciences.  

DataTimes
Indexes 180+ financial and regional newspapers from all over the USA and the world from 1986 to present; more info

DIPPR
Data Compilation of Pure Compound Properties; experimental data and correlations of temperature-dependent properties for over 1,600 pure chemicals;   (Retrieve Password)

Disclosure
Information about all public company filings including annual reports, company summary information, and shareholder reports; includes investment information from public documents maintained by the SEC; offers daily updates of stock trading reports; 1986+; more info

DiscoveryGate for Academics (MDL)
A search/display interface to a multi-database collection of more than 20M structures, 11M reactions and 350M calculated and reported physical properties, that includes both Beilstein and Gmelin. Many of the databases can be searched either individually or as a group. more info

Dissertation Abstracts
Citations 1861-, abstracts 1980-, Caltech dissertations full text 1997-;

DLD: Database of Latin Dictionaries

DOE Information Bridge
Fulltext and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. Reports from 1995+

DTIC Public STINET (Defense Technical Information Center Scientific and Technical Information Network)
Public STINET (available free of charge) provides access to citations of unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports Collection (with some full-text). Public STINET also provides access to the Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, Staff College Automated Military Periodical Index, DoD Index to Specifications and Standards, and Research and Development Descriptive Summaries.

Printed documents may be ordered from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

e-EROS
Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis; Systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic chemistry. Covers both classical reagents and the new 'designer' reagents

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
1971+ index of world literature in earthquake engineering including technical reports, conference papers, and monographs as well as journal articles

EconLit
Provides citations for dissertations & articles in more than 620 journals, books, and working papers on economics from 1969 to present.

Educators Reference Desk
1966+ index and abstracts of education research and practice covering ERIC documents and journal articles

EI Compendex*Web
1970+ comprehensive engineering and applied science index and abstracts including chemical, civil, and mechanical engineering; more info

Encyclopaedia Britannica

Encyclopedia Americana

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Articles are grouped in subject areas: Main Group Elements; Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry; Organometallic Chemistry; Bioinorganic Chemistry; Solid State, Materials, Nanomaterials and Catalysis; and General Inorganic Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Methods.

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science & Technology

Energy Citations Database
Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.

Entrez
National Center for Biotechnology Information's search and retrieval system integrating databases of nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, macromolecular structures, whole genomes, and MEDLINE via PubMed

Faculty of 1000

Federal R&D Project Summaries
Project descriptions of research funded by NIH, DOE, and NSF

Federal Research in Progress (FEDRIP)
Project descriptions of ongoing federally-funded (U.S.) research in the physical sciences, engineering, and life sciences

FindArticles
Archive of published articles that you can search for free. Constantly updated, it contains articles dating back to 1998 from more than 300 magazines and journals from the Gale Group publisher. More Info

FirstSearch
A gateway interface to a number of general subject databases

Gallup Brain
The Gallup Brain is a searchable, living record of 70 years of public opinion. Inside, you'll find answers to more than 136,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935. This unparalleled public opinion database also houses Gallup Poll News Service articles, Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing articles, and Gallup Management Journal articles that feature in-depth public opinion and management data analyses.

GeoRef
Covers the North American geology from 1785+ and world geology from 1933+; includes references to U.S. Geological Survey publications, theses & doctoral dissertations, books, maps, reports, as well as literature from more than 3,500 journals; more info

Gmelin CrossFire Commander -- Gmelin Crossfire DiscoveryGate
Inorganic/organometallic chemistry database of structures and properties data with literature references on ~2.4M compounds and ~1M reactions.

HighWire Press
Search and browse interfaces to all of the journals hosted by HighWire Press.

Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts for world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada (covered in America: History and Life). Indexes periodicals, book chapters and theses published since 1954. Selected links to full text articles.

ICSD
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database

IEEE Xplore
Provides fulltext access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines since 1988

Illinois Researcher Information Service (IRIS)
Private as well as (U.S.) federal funding opportunities in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities

Information Please Almanac
Statistical, tabular, & general information on the world, U.S., history, government, biography, sports, entertainment, business, culture, science, technology, weather

INSPEC
Index and abstracts 1969+ produced by Institute of Electrical Engineers; includes physics, astrophysics, computer science, electrical engineering and information technology; more info

WebCASPER - Integrated Science and Engineering Resources Data System
The WebCASPAR database provides easy access to a large body of statistical data resources for science and engineering (S&E) at U.S. academic institutions. WebCASPAR emphasizes S&E, but its data resources also provide information on non-S&E fields and higher education in general.

Iter
Index of journal articles and books on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700); more info

JSTOR
Electronic fulltext archive of 119+ academic journals; SEARCH JSTOR. more info

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology 
Fourth Edition of Kirk-Othmer includes a powerful search engine and intuitive user interface

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information; more info source list

Lexis/Nexis Congressional Universe
Provides access to legislative and Congressional information

Lexis/Nexis Statistical Universe
Provides access to a wide range of statistical information

Library of Latin Texts
Latin texts from antiquity, early Christian, medieval and modern periods. Includes the Database of Latin Dictionaries.

LIterature ONline (LION)
Provides texts, criticisms, and search tool for English and American literature. Texts are fully searchable and are linked to more than 170 online journals.

Literature Resource Center
Provides provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and discipline. Combines Gale's core literary databases, including Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Literary Criticism, in a single service. Continually updated.

Marquis Who's Who on the Web
Biographical data on people from around the world, 1985-current. Updated daily. Incorporates Who's Who in American History.

MathSciNet
1940+ mathematical reviews and summaries of journal articles and books, more info; For earlier material (1868-1930) see also Jahrbuch Project (in German and English)

Medline (OLDMEDLINE) included in PubMed

Melvyl
University of California's union catalog of books and journals at all UC campuses as well as at numerous other major California academic institutions

MetaBibCatsWiki
World directory of Online multinational and national union catalogs

MLA Bibliography
Modern Language Association International Bibliography; more info

Monumenta Germaniae Historica
A collection of medieval historical sources; many of the principal primary documents for the study of medieval Europe;

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
The NTRS provides access to NASA's current and historical technical literature ... approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. Information includes: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos. NTRS integrates three separate information collections through a common search interface:
NACA Collection: Citations and reports from NACA period (1915 to 1958).
NASA Collection: Citations and documents from 1958 to the present.
NIX Collection: Citations and images, photos, movies and videos downloaded from the NASA Image eXchange

Newspaper Abstracts
Indexes significant items from regional and national newspapers from 1989 to present; more info

NIST Data Gateway
Easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. Search by keyword, property, or substance name across dozens of NIST databases

NIST Critically Selected Stability Constants of Metal Complexes
Updated CD-ROM version of Martell's Critical Stability Constants.  Hydrogen is considered a metal.

NLM Gateway
A single Web interface that searches multiple National Library of Medicine retrieval systems; more info

NTIS
U.S. government reports and complementary materials from international sources, 1990+. Many records include links to the full-text publication on an agency's web site, or can be downloaded directly from the NTIS archival copy for a nominal charge.

Optics InfoBase is a freely searchable database of all OSA journal articles (since 1917), which also contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences. Caltech only subscribes to the OSA journal combination #1 (which does not include the OSA Conference Proceedings or the OSA Archive journal volumes).

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000; more infoOxford English Dictionarythe most comprehensive and exhaustive English language dictionary

PAIS International
Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters,and statistical directories about public affairs from 1972 to presentmore info

PapersFirst
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide from 1993 to present; more info

PGM (Platinum Group Metals) Database
Collection of published and internal company data covering physical properties, phase diagrams and characteristics of platinum group metals and their alloys.

Philosopher's Index
Index and abstracts of books and journals in philosophy and related fields

Polymer Data Handbook (retrieve password)

ProceedingsFirst
Index of worldwide conference proceedings from 1993 to present; more info

PROLA
Physical Review Online Archive. Fulltext [Phys Rev A-D v1-56 (1970-1997)] [Phys Rev E v47-56 (1993-1997)] [Phys Rev Letters v1-79 (1958-1997)] [Phys Rev, Series 1 v1-35 (1893-1912)] [Phys Rev, Series 2 v1-188 (1913-1969)] [Rev Mod Phys v1-69 (1929-1997)]; more info

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Citations 1861-, abstracts 1980-, Caltech dissertations full text 1997-

PsycFirst
Indexes journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related fields from the 3 most current years; more info

PubChem
PubChem contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities

PubMed (Medline)
1950+ biomedical and related index and abstracts; PubMed's advantages include links to molecular structure, DNA sequence, and protein sequence databases, and direct links to some full-text journal articles; more info (1), more info (2)

PubMed Central

Quakeline
Index and abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, maps, and videotapes on earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard mitigation, and related topics

RAND California
California and U.S. public policy issues with an emphasis on statistics

ResearchIndex
A scientific literature digital library

Royal Society of Chemistry. Search RSC Journals
Search interface to the Royal Society of Chemistry's journal archive, 1841+

Science.gov 2.0
Searches across 30 databases from 12 government science agencies, as well as 1,700 Web sites, with results presented in relevancy ranked order.

SciFinder Scholar
Chemical Abstracts Service's databases including Chemical Abstracts, CAS Registry file, CASREACT (organic/organometallic reactions), patents, and chemical suppliers

Scitation
Scitation is an article database comprising more than one million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications. Publishers include: AIP, APS, ASME, ASCE, ECS, IEE/IET, SPIE, SIAM. Search options include Scitation, SPIN, Scitation+SPIN, PubMed/Medline.

Scitopia.org - A federated search portal for the entire electronic libraries of the leading science and technology society publishers. It includes three million documents, including conference papers, spanning 150 years.

SIRS Researcher
Contains records for articles selected from domestic and international newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications 1998+; more info

Social Science Citation Index
Now part of Web of Knowledge

Synthesis
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science, published by Morgan & Claypool, provides access to lectures on research topics in Engineering and Computer Science

Thomas Register
Information on 156,000+ U.S. and Canadian manufacturers including 7700+ catalogs; searchable by product type and brand name (Retrieve Password)

Toxicology & Environmental Health Information
TOXLINE & TOXNET including Environmental Protection Agency databases

TRIS Online
1960+ Index of transportation research covering books, journal articles, technical reports, environmental impact statements and governmental & association publications. Also provides links to: TRB Research in Progress (RIP); International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD); Transportation Libraries Catalog and NTIS. more info

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
A state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry; contains nearly 1000 major articles, written by some 3,000 authors who are experts in their fields and affiliated to leading chemical companies or research institutes; more info

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Provides data on over 210,000 regularly published and irregularly issued serials including purchasing and contact information (conventional and electronic) for over 90,000 publishers in 200 countries.

UniProt
The UniProt Consortium is comprised of the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI), the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB), and the Protein Information Resource (PIR). Until recently, EBI and SIB together produced Swiss-Prot and TrEMBL, while PIR produced the Protein Sequence Database (PIR-PSD). The UniProt databases (UniPARC, UniProtKB, UniREF) are built upon the pooled overlapping and complementary resources, efforts and expertise of these pioneereing efforts; UniProt FAQ

Vapor phase infrared spectral library
High-resolution (0.1 cm-1) quantitative pressure-broadened infrared spectra of several hundred (primarily organic) gas-phase compounds.

Washington Information Directory Online
Brings together CQ's wealth of contact and descriptive information on federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, state government offices, public interest groups, nonprofits, international organizations.

Web of Knowledge
Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIsearch), 1945+
Social Science Citation Index, 1956+
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1994+>

Wiley Database of Polymer Properties
Data source for over 2,500 commercially available polymers. Initially derived from The Polymer Handbook, WDPP will be updated quarterly. Features include searching for specific properties or ranges of properties, creation of custom tables for properties of a specific polymer, and links to the primary literature via CrossRef.

Wiley Interscience Current Protocols
Current Protocols contains the largest collection of authoritative, peer-reviewed, regularly-updated research methods and topical overviews available, with over 10,000 protocols spanning the life sciences.  

WorldCat
OCLC Online Union Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide; more info

Zentralblatt MATH
Limited, free access to the Zentralblatt MATH database