Print Indexes
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI): 1907-1994
cumulative
(1907-1994)
[back to top]
SFL REF: Z5523.A524 1907/89
Mil-1 QuickRef: Z5523.A524 1907/94
Mil-8 QuickRef: Z5523.A524 1907/94
cumulation: cumulates years 1907-1989/1994
includes: journals, conference proceedings (in series), patent documents
(in series) and meeting publications
excludes: not stated
language(s): all languages
directory of sources: given with each entry
arrangement: alphabetically (letter-by-letter) by the abbreviated form of
the serial or nonserial title; items beginning with numbers follow alpha listing
indexes: n/a
full citations: no
To find a translation:
Look up abbreviated title of journal you want to find. Translations will be
listed if available. Locations and holdings information are given under each entry.
EXAMPLE:


Chemical Abstracts. Patent Index (1967+)
[back to top]
Mil-8 Alcove
cumulation: semiannually
includes: chemical & chemical engineering patents from 29 countries
excludes: books, journals, etc.
languages: all
directory of sources: alphabetical by a 2-character code for the country of issue
indexes:Patent Index, Keyword Index, Subject Index, Chemical
Substance Index
full citation: yes
online availability: CAplus (1967-1975 patents only; mid-1975+ patents w/
abstracts)
To find a translation: If you are looking for a pre-1977 patent, find
the section which contains the patent concordance (for patents 1977+ there is only one
combined index). If you know the patent number and the country where the patent was
issued, look up the country under the two-character country code (e.g., JP for Japan).
Find the number of your patent (patent numbers are listed in ascending order after
country). If related or equivalent patents exist, there will be a listing of these patents
with their country codes noted below the main patent (see example under 3); this is called
a "family listing." Scan the other 'family' members to see if there is a country
code that would indicate that a patent is in English (US, CAN, GB, etc.) or a language you
can read. If the patent number you are looking up is not the main patent, the index will
refer you to the patent number where the full family listing is available (see example
under 2).
EXAMPLE:

Journals in Translation(1950's+)
[back to top]
Mil-1 Ref Z6941 .J68 1991
SFL REF Z6941 .J68 1982
cumulation: annually
includes: cover-to-cover translations of journals, journals containing selected
translated articles
excludes: journals published simultaneously in 2 or more languages (with
exception of Russian & Japanese), journals containing only translated abstracts
languages: all, but mostly into English
directory of sources: entitled "Key to Publishers and/or Distributors"
located after Original Titles Index
arrangement: alphabetically by English journal title
indexes: Keyword Index, Original Title Index
full citation: no
online availability: n/a
other: includes General Outlines for Abstracts of Soviet Patents
& Inventions (from 1960), Atomnaya Energiya, Doklady, Institute
of Electrical Engineers of Japan, and Institute of Electronics &
Communication Engineers of Japan
To find a translation:
Look up the translated title of the journal you wish to find. If you do not know
the translated (English) title use the Original Title Index to find the correct
entry number for your journal. The full entry will give you the journal's original
title(s), what dates the translation covers, whether it is cover-to-cover or selective,
and what institution currently holds the journal.
EXAMPLE:

Government Reports Announcements & Index (1946+)
[back to top]
SFL REF INDEXES: T45.B52
cumulation: semi-annually (1960+)
includes: federally funded translations
excludes: not stated
language(s): into English only
directory of sources: documents available through NTIS
arrangement: classified arrangement
indexes: subject index & numerical index for 1-10 in separate volume
(1946-1953); numerical & author indexes (1954-1959); numerical, subject, personal
author and source indexes (1960+)
full citation: yes
online availability: NTIS bibliographic database (Dialog file 6)
To find a translation:
Look up author's name in personal author index. Scan titles to see if document has been
translated. Translations begin with prefixes JPRS-, PB-### ###-T, or TT-.
For space and aeronautics related translations since 1962, try the
NASA Technical
Report Server (NTRS). Search
under author's name or keywords of the English title (combine your search with JPRS* or
TT* in the report number field). Papers written before 1962 but translated after are
included.
EXAMPLE:

CITE: Consolidated Index of Translations into English (1953-1966)
[back to top]
SFL REF: Z7403 .C79 1969
cumulation:cumulates Translation Monthly (vols. 1-4) and Technical
Translations (vols. 1-16)
includes: journals, technical reports, standards, newspapers and patents
excludes: books, conference proceedings
language(s): into English only
directory of sources: pp. iv-
arrangement: alpha by journal title; patents are alpha by issuing country
indexes: Journal Citation Index, Patent Citation Index
full citation: no (only journal title, year, volume and pages)
To find a journal article translation:
In the Journal Citation Index look up title of journal in its original language.
Scan listings under title for year, volume and page number of the article you wish to
find. An accession number and where the translation originated (source) will be given. The
source will be indicated by a symbol or an acronym. A listing of source codes and acronyms
is in the "Directory of Sources" on page v.
EXAMPLE:

To find a patent translation:
Look up country that issued patent you hope to find. Scan patent numbers to see if your
patent is listed. If patent is listed, an accession number and the translation's
originating source will be given. A listing of source codes and acronyms is in the
"Directory of Sources" on page v.
EXAMPLE:

Translation Monthly (1955-1958)
[back to top]
LIBRARY ANNEX
cumulation: annually
includes: translations from government agencies,
technical societies, universities and industries
excludes: not specified
language(s): into English
directory of sources:
arrangement: alphabetically by first author
indexes: author
full citation: title in english, references are listed
as given on the actual translation.
To find a translation:
by author: In the Index for each volume (year), look up author's
name. Only first authors are given. The Translation Monthly entry
number is
given, use them to find the full citation in the Translation Monthly
volume for the index you are looking in.
Note: The translations in this index are from the Special
Libraries Association Translation Pool which has since been relocated to
the Library of Congress and may not be completely accessible.
Technical Translations (1959-1967)
[back to top]
LIBRARY ANNEX
cumulation: semi-annually
includes: scientific & technical literature prepared by the
government and private sources, technical reports, periodicals and books
excludes: conference proceedings, patents and standards
language(s): into English and other languages
directory of sources: found in the "I" pages at the end of
each issue [Note: I-pages were not included in the bound volumes containing the 6 month
cumulated indexes; look in bound volumes which cover the first 3 months of a 6 month
period (e.g., JAN-MAR or JUL-OCT).
arrangement: subject arrangement
indexes: author, journal and accession/report number
full citation: yes
To find a translation:
by author: In the Author Index look up author's name. The Technical
Translations issue number, field/subfield number and accession/report number will be
given, use them to find the full citation in the Technical Translations issue
indicated. The full citation includes the source information.
EXAMPLE:

FULL CITATION EXAMPLE:

by journal title: In the Journal Index look up title of
journal in its original language. Scan listings for volume, issue, pages and year of
article for which you are looking. The Technical Translations issue number,
field/subfield number and accession/report number will be given, use them to find the full
citation in the Technical Translations issue indicated. The full citation
includes the source information.
EXAMPLE:

by accession or report number: In the Accession/Report Number
Index look up the accession or report number listed alphanumerically. The Technical
Translations issue number, field/subfield number and accession/report number will be
given, use them to find the full citation in the Technical Translations issue
indicated. The full citation includes the source information.
EXAMPLE:

CITE II: Consolidated Index of Translations into English II
(1966-1984)
[back to top]
SFL REF: Z7403 .C791 1986
cumulation: cumulates Translations Register Index vols. 1-18
(1967-1984)
includes: scientific journal articles, technical reports
excludes: books, conference proceedings, patents, standards
language(s): into English only
directory of sources: pp. vii-
arrangement: alpha by journal title
indexes: Journal Citation Index
full citation: no
To find a translation:
In the Journal Citation Index look up title of journal in its original language.
Scan listings under title for year, volume and page number of the article you wish to
find. An accession number and where the translation originated (source) will be given. The
source will be indicated by a symbol or an acronym. A listing of source codes and acronyms
is in the "Directory of Sources" on page vii (see EXAMPLE
above under earlier edition of CITE).
World Index of Scientific Translations ... (1967-1977)
[back to top]
LIBRARY ANNEX: v.1 (1967) - v.11 (1977)
World Index of Scientific Translations and List of Translations Notified to the
International Translations Center v.11 (1977)
World Index of Scientific Translations and List of Translations Notified to ETC
v.6 (1972)-v.10 (1976)
World Index of Scientific Translations v.1 (1967)-v.5 (1971)
cumulation: annually, journal title index has 5 year cumulative
volumes
includes: journal & other serial articles, patents, standards
relating to science & technology, some social science & other subject translations
excludes: books, conference proceedings
language(s): from Eastern European & Asian into Western languages
(German, French, English)
directory of sources: located in introductory pages
arrangement: Index is arranged by title of original publication
(patents are located under "patent" in the serial title listing and then alpha
by country); List is arranged by subject
indexes: author, journal title
full citation: yes
other: includes listing of "Japanese Cross References" for help
when only English version of title is known for a Japanese journal; List is
published annually in number 1 starting with v 9
To find a journal article translation:
by author: Look up author's name in Author Index located in the last
issue of each yearly volume. Find the accession number(s), then look up the accession
number(s) in the List section for the full citation and source information. Note:
accession number may be located in an earlier issue's List section.
EXAMPLE:
AUTHOR INDEX

LIST SECTION

by journal title: In the Index section look up the journal
title in its original language. Scan the list for the year, volume and pages to see if
article you are looking for has been translated. Note the accession number and look up the
accession number in the List section for the full citation and source
information. Note: accession number may be located in an earlier issue's List
section.
To find a patent or standard translation:
In the Index section look under P's for "Patent" or S's for
"Standard". Patents/standards will be collocated by country in which the patent
or standard originated. Find accession number for patent/standard you are looking for and
look up the accession number in the List section for the full citation and source
information. Note: accession number may be located in an earlier issue's List
section.
EXAMPLE (PATENT):

EXAMPLE (STANDARD):

World Transindex (1977-1985)
[back to top]
LIBRARY ANNEX: v.1 (1978)-v.9 (1985)
cumulation: annually
includes: papers, conference proceedings, monographs, offprints, patents,
preprints, reports, standards, technical handbooks, theses, unidentified sources
excludes: not stated
language(s): from Eastern European & Asian into Western languages
(German, French, English)
directory of sources: entitled "Key to Organizations..."
located after the subject category listing in each issue
arrangement: by subject
indexes: source (publications) & author indexes
full citation: yes
online availability: World Translations Index: WTI (Dialog file 295,
1979-1997)
other: also provides a listing of journals currently translated
cover-to-cover
To find a translation:
by author: Look up author's name in Author Index located only in
the annual cumulated index issue for each volume. Next to the author's name will be an
accession number. Look up the accession number(s) in the References section of
the monthly issues for full citation and source information.
EXAMPLE:
AUTHOR INDEX

REFERENCES SECTION

by journal title: In the Source Index look up the journal
title in its original language. Find year, volume, issue, and pages of article you wish to
find. Each translation will have an accession number in the right-hand column. The
notations E, F, D (for English, French, Deutch) tell you into which language the article
has been translated. Look up the accession number in the References section on
the monthly issues for full citation and source information.
by conference, monograph, offprint, paper, patent, preprint, report standard,
technical handbook, thesis or unidentified source: In the Source index look up
the following abbreviations for each type of material: Conf, Mono, Offpr, Paper, Patent,
Prepr, Rep, Standard, Tech Hb, Thesis, Unid. Under these headings a listing of each
document type is given arranged by country, then title (or numerically for
patents/standards). The notations E, F, D (for English, French, Deutsch) tell you into
which language the article has been translated. The accession number in the right-hand
column can be used to look up the full citation and source information in the Reference
section of the monthly issues.
EXAMPLE:
CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS

MONOGRAPH

PATENT

Translations register-index (1967-1986)
[back to top]
LIBRARY ANNEX: v.1 (1967)-v.20 (1986)
cumulation: cumulated in WTI Dialog database?
includes: journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, standards in the areas
of the natural, physical, medical and social sciences.
excludes: books
language(s): into English
directory of Sources: located in introductory pages before author index
arrangement: Monthly register -- by subject. Indexes: author - by name; journal
citation - by title; conference - by year; patent & standards - by country
indexes: author, journal citation, conference, patent, standard (cumulated
annually)
full citation: ? (in register section)
online availability: World Translations Index:WTI (Dialog file 295, 1979-1997)
To find a translation:
Using the appropriate index look up document you are trying to obtain using whatever
information you have (e.g., if you have author information then use author index). In all
of the indexes you are given an accession number which can be used to locate the full
information in the monthly register sections of the TRI. In the journal citation index you
are also given the source symbol or acronym, subject code, coden and issn numbers.
EXAMPLES:
AUTHOR INDEX

JOURNAL CITATION INDEX

STANDARD INDEX

World translations index (1987)
[back to top]
LIBRARY ANNEX : v.1 (1987)
cumulation: annually
includes: includes conference proceedings, maps, monographs, offprints, papers,
patents, preprints, reports, standards, technical handbooks, theses and unidentified
sources
excludes: not stated
language(s): from all languages into Western languages
directory of sources: entitled "Key to Organizations..." located in each
issue after the subject category listing and in the Annual Index.
arrangement: by subject
indexes: source, author (cumulated annually in separate issue)
full citation: yes
online availability: World Translations Index: WTI (Dialog file 295, 1979 - 1997)
other: Transliteration table of Slavic Cyrillic alphabets, listing of Journals
Currently Translated Cover-to-Cover (in 1st issue & in Annual Index)
To find a translation:
by author: Look up author's name in the Author index located only in the annual
cumulated index issue for each volume. Next to the author's name will be an accession
number. Look up the accession number(s) in the References section of the monthly
issues for full citation and source information.
EXAMPLE:
AUTHOR INDEX

REFERENCES SECTION

by journal title: In the Source index look up the journal title in its
original language. Find year, volume, issue, and pages of article you hope to find. Each
translation will have an accession number in the right-hand column. The notations E, F, D
(for English, French, Deutsch) tell you into which language the article has been
translated. Look up the accession number in the References section of the monthly
issues for full citation and source information.
EXAMPLE:
SOURCE INDEX

REFERENCES SECTION

by conference, monograph, offprint, paper, patent, preprint, report standard,
technical handbook, thesis or unidentified source: In the Source index look up
the following abbreviations for each type of material: Conf, Mono, Offpr, Paper, Patent,
Prepr, Rep, Stand, Tech Hb, Thesis, Unid. Under these headings a listing of each document
type is given arranged by country then title (or numerically for patents/standards) The
notations E, F, D (for English, French, Deutsch) tell you into which language the article
has been translated. The accession number in the right-hand column can be used to look up
the full citation and source information in the Reference section of the monthly
issues.
EXAMPLE:
SOURCE INDEX

REFERENCES SECTION

Databases
OCLC Worldcat (all dates)
availability: Internet http://www.worldcat.org
coverage: OCLC is a union catalog for over 63 countries and territories.
It includes books, technical reports, conference proceedings and periodicals
Nasa Technical Reports Server (1962+)
availability: Internet http://ntrs.nasa.gov/
coverage: Space and Aeronautics related translations
NTIS Bibliographic Database (1964+)
availability: Dialog
file 6
coverage: federally generated translations
World Translations Index: WTI (1979-1997)
availability: Dialog
file 295
coverage: technical literature in all fields of science and technology
British Library Document Supply Collections Database (1980+)
availability: Internet http://blpc.bl.uk/
coverage: translations from the British Lending Library; good source
for translated books
Miscellaneous Resources
Books
Brush, Stephen G. Resources for the history of physics: Guide to
books and audio-visual materials. Guide to original works of historical
importance and their translations into other languages. University
Press of New England, 1972.
availability: CLAS
record
coverage: A 2 part work; contains a list of translations
arranged alphabetically by the surnames of the first author and an
extensive index (covering both Parts 1-2) which includes second authors,
subject terms and book titles.
Internet Translation Resources
PROMT's Online Translator
availability: Internet http://www.translate.ru/eng/
coverage: translators for text, email and websites;
translates from English to Russian, French, German, Spanish and vice
versa for these languages
American Translators Association's Online Translation Services
Directory
availability: Internet http://www.americantranslators.org/tsd_listings/
coverage: Searchable database to find a translator or
interpreter, features the profiles of 4030 translators and interpreters
Xlation
availability: Internet http://www.xlation.com/
coverage: 1,600 glossaries and over 60 online grammars, links
to computer assisted and machine translation resources
Major Translation Centers
[back to top]
Information for translation centers able to supply translations listed in the indexes
is mostly out of date. Many of the once major translation centers have changed hands or
are no longer in business. Listed here are a few of the major suppliers of translations
and whether translations from them are still available. |